Gifford, Gerald: A Descriptive Catalogue of the Music Collection at Burghley House, Stamford (Ashgate Books) Hardback

$87.23 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 9780754604600

Status: Usually despatched within 10 working days


Department: Biographies & Reference Books - Books & Literature (Classical)

More Product Details

More Product Details


Contents and Reviews


Contents: Introduction: the music and musicians of Burghley House: John, Fifth Earl of Exeter; Brownlow, Ninth Earl of Exeter; Henry, Tenth Earl and First Marquess of Exeter; Brownlow, Second Marquess of Exeter; Isabella Cecil, née Poyntz; Lady Mary Cecil; The Hon. Edward Cecil; Lady Georgina Cecil, née Pakenham; William Alleyne, Third Marquess of Exeter; Cataloguing Procedures; Appendices: Personal inscriptions, subscription list entries and proof of ownership relating to the Burghley House music collection; Obituary of Brownlow, Ninth Earl of Exeter; Specification of the chapel organ and barrel organ in the chapel of Burghley House;Texts of poems from Exeter archives manuscript R.O. 532; Illustrations; The Catalogue: General catalogue: manuscript music; General catalogue: printed music; Catches, glees and madrigals: manuscript music; Catches, glees and madrigals: printed music; Piano music: manuscript; Piano music: printed; Index.