Harwell Celenza, Anna: Hans Christian Andersen & Music (Ashgate Books) Hardback

$80.09 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 9780754601401

Status: Usually despatched within 10 working days

Subtitle: The Nightingale Revealed

Department: Biographies & Reference Books - Books & Literature (Classical)

More Product Details

More Product Details


Contents and Reviews


Contents: Introduction; The nightingale: Interlude 1: an excerpt from Shadow Pictures from a Trip in the Harz Mountains, Switzerland etc. etc. in the Summer of 1831 by H.C. Andersen; The improviser: Interlude 2: Wandering through the Opera Gallery by H.C. Andersen; The virtuoso: Interlude 3: 'Liszt' from A Poet's Bazaar by H.C. Andersen; The poet, the pianist, and the patron: Interlude 4: The Pepperman's Nightcap by H.C. Andersen; The patriot: Interlude 5: Bulwark of the Arts by H.C. Andersen; The tone-poet; Coda: the death of a romantic; Notes; Bibliography; Index.