Harwell Celenza, Anna: The Early Works of Niels W. Gade (Ashgate Books) Hardback

$80.52 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 9780754604013

Status: Usually despatched within 10 working days

Subtitle: In Search of the Poetic

Department: Biographies & Reference Books - Books & Literature (Classical)

More Product Details

More Product Details


Contents and Reviews


Contents: Preface; The Formative Years (1817–38): Childhood and early musical training; Emergence as a serious composer; In Search of the Poetic (1839–42): Gade’s composition diary; The Chamber Works (1839–40); The Piano Sonata in E Minor, Op. 28 (1839–54); Agnete and the Merman (1839–42); The Concert Overtures: Echoes of Ossian and St. Hans’ Evening Play (1840–41); Symphony no. 1 in C Minor, Op. 5 (1841–42); Gade and Danish Nationalism: Gade’s national roots; Bibliography; Appendices; Index.