Franz Joseph Haydn: String Quartets Book 9 Op. 71 & 74 Parts

$58.94 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: HN213
Shop Product Code: 048691Q
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
String Quartets Book 9 Op. 71 & 74 Parts

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Chamber - String Quartet

Publisher: Henle

More Product Details

More Product Details

Haydn dedicated the series of Quartets op. 71 and 74 to the Hungarian Count Apponyi, a Viennese patron of music and a freemason friend. Haydn composed them when he was enjoying a great deal of success with his "London Symphonies" in England. With their weighty slow introductions and dense movements focusing on sound, they also have symphonic characteristics. In particular the Quartet in g minor op. 74,3 is striking on account of its expressiveness and originality. Due to the rhythmic drive of the outer movements it was give the epithet "Rider Quartet". This study edition complements the parts of the "Apponyi Quartets" which are already available in Henle Urtext; a new preface by Christin Heitmann provides insightful background information.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!