$49.10 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: HH190
Divertimento II (Op. 71/2)

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Editor: Hogwood, Christopher

Department: Strings - Violin

Publisher: Edition HH

More Product Details

More Product Details

Many works were dedicated to Haydn during his lifetime, often by aspiring pupils or colleagues (Mozart's six string quartets and Beethoven's Op. 2 sonatas are the most known) but a particularly discrete form of flattery came from Pavel Wranitzky, in the form of two printed sets of Trois Divertissemens

Although these carried no explicit dedication, the title explained that they are "amplifications" of six of Haydn's best-known string quartets, Opp. 71 and 74. Wranitzky expanded the ensemble to nine players by adding flute, oboe, two horns and double-bass, making it one of the larger divertimento scorings for the period; the results were published in 1800, but have since been overlooked by performers.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!