Catalogue No: ED3964
ISMN: 979-0-001-04763-0
Shop Product Code: 011198Y
More Product Codes

More Product Codes
ISBN: 978-3-7957-9562-7

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Subtitle: Studies in Counterpoint, Tonal Organisation & Piano Playing

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Piano Solo

Instrumentation: Piano

Publisher: Schott

More Product Details

More Product Details

The cycle of fugues is introduced and concluded by a Praeludium and Postludium, the second formed by turning the Praeludium upside down and reading it backwards. In solving technical problems he posed himself, Hindemith created not a dry exercise but a work of considerable imagination. Intellectual achievement and sheer delight in playing are shown not to be mutually exclusive. The Ludus is a graphic example of the composer's delight in the fantastic, offered to his wife, born under the sign of Leo, as a birthday present. He illustrated the work with coloured pencil, among other things drawing a lion for each entry of the subject of the fugues and for each of the twelve a different kind of lion, according to the character of the music, originally published in a limited edition but providing an instructive formal analysis of the music.


Contents and Reviews

Fugen und Interludien