Richard Hudson: Jumping to Conclusions: The Falling-Third Cadences in Chant, Polyphony, & Recitative (Ashgate Books)

$66.75 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 9780754654070

Status: Usually despatched within 10 working days


Department: Biographies & Reference Books - Books & Literature (Classical)

More Product Details

More Product Details


Contents and Reviews


Contents: Preface; Introduction. Part I The Falling-Third Cadences in Chant and Polyphony: Gregorian chant; Late 14th- and early 15th-century polyphony; Polyphony from Dufay to Palestrina. Part II The Falling-Third Cadences in Recitative: Monody and recitative in the 17th century; Later recitative; The Appoggiatura. The Conclusions: The 4-3-1 figure in history. Bibliography; Index.