• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Barenreiter Urtext - Revised edition of Janacek's 1. X. 1905 (Sonata) for piano solo. Usually referred to as a sonata, "1. X. 1905" is Janacek's most significant piece for the piano. The work had a tumultuous history. It originally consisted of 3 movements inspired by the death of a Czech labourer shot by soldiers during a demonstration. Shortly after its premiere in 1906 Janacek destroyed the final movement & then, following a private performance in Prague, the other 2 movements as well.

You may be interested in

  • Rachmaninoff, Sergei
    Piano Compositions 3 (incl: Morceaux de Fantaisie, Morceaux de Salon etc.) Russian Piano Classics

Also By This Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications