Special Offer  

RRP: $20.97 *
Now: $19.93 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: BA9508
Shop Product Code: 215963H
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Works for Violin and Piano

Status: Usually shipped within 10 - 12 working days

Department: Strings - Violin

Publisher: Bärenreiter

More Product Details

More Product Details

Whilst still on a study visit to the Conservatory in Leipzig in 1879, Leos Janacek began writing works for violin and piano.

He composed at least seven Romances, but only one has survived, quite a simple piece, with the piano frequently doubling the violin part. It is described in the manuscript as Romance No. 4. From the same period comes the Dumka , a passionate work which was soon reworked, and which some scholars have suggested may be one of the Leipzig Romances. The composition par excellence scored for these instruments is the four-movement sonata.

It was composed during Janacek’s most brilliant period of creativity between 1914 and 1922, when he reached his maturity. The works from these years demonstrate Janacek’s striving for maximum concentration of musical thought, precise modulation of form and balance between the individual parts of the work.

- Urtext from the Janacek Complete Edition
- All available sources have been taken into consideration
- New and detailed foreword by Jiri Zahradka (Czech, English, German)

Published by Baerenreiter.

Contents and Reviews


1. Predmluva 2. Preface 3. Vorwort 4. Skladby pro housle a klavír / Works for Violin and Piano / Werke für Violine und Klavier: 5. Romance / Romance / Romanze 6. Dumka 7. Sonáta / Sonata / Sonate: 8. I Con moto 9. II Balada / Ballad / Ballade 10. III Allegretto 11. IV Adagio 12. Supplementum: 13. Allegro