Jenkins, Karl: A Troika? Tidy! from Euphonium Concerto

$63.20 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 262741A
Shop Product Code: 262741A
A Troika? Tidy! from Euphonium Concerto

Status: Usually shipped within 15 - 20 working days

Department: Orchestral & Band - Brass Band

Instrumentation: Euphonium & Brass Band

Publisher: Prima Vista Musikk

More Product Details

More Product Details

Perfect Pairing

'A Troika? Tidy!', is taken from Karl Jenkins' Euphonium Concerto, an extended work given its world premiere by euphonium soloist David Childs and the BBC Concert Orchestra conducted by Owain Arwel Hughes in St. David's Hall, Cardiff during the last night of the 2009 Welsh Proms.

'A Troika? Tidy!', which would normally form the fourth movement of the concerto, begins with menace before the soloist has the opportunity exploit phenomenal technique. With a beautiful change of gear towards the end, a rapturous interlude is ushered in leading to a brief cadenza with staggering pyrotechnics in a varity of cross-rhythms conducted over the incessant chug of sleigh-bells.

On his eagerness to compose the work for David, Karl Jenkins stated, "It's been a privilege to write for such a virtuoso performer. We had been talking about it for some time and happily it all came together in 2009. David is a wonderful musician of the highest quality and it was a joy and, indeed, a challenge, to write a work for both him and an instrument of such beauty and agility."

'A Troika? Tidy!' for euphonium and brass band recieved its premiere on November 29th 2009 in Swansea's Brangwyn Hall performed by David Childs and the Cory Band conducted by Dr. Robert Childs.

Other individual movements and the complete Concerto for Euphonium with brass band are available, published by Prima Vista Musikk. A Euphonium and Piano version of the Concerto is available from Boosey & Hawkes. Orchestral and wind band versions are available to hire from Boosey and Hawkes.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!