Franz Liszt: Liszt Society Vol. 12: Complete Music for Violin & Piano


Catalogue No: LS12
Shop Product Code: 180698Y
More Product Codes

More Product Codes
ISBN: 9780946868339

Status: Usually despatched within 10 - 12 working days

Department: Strings - Violin

Instrumentation: Violin, Piano

Publisher: Hardie Press

More Product Details

More Product Details

A 200-page volume of original music by Liszt for violin and piano? It is scarcely credible that such a significant body of work by such a major composer should have remained in total obscurity for so long. In fact, these extraordinary pieces have never before been issued together, and the present publication marks the largest collaborative project ever undertaken by The Liszt Society and The Hardie Press. These works traverse Liszt's whole composing life, encompassing great virtuoso concert pieces and wonderfully intimate miniatures. They show a serious effort to come to grips with what a solo violin might be able to accomplish, and at the same time demonstrate a deep and affecting skill in the art of duo writing.


Contents and Reviews

Critical Notes

Zwei Walzer, Nrs 1 & 2
Duo (sur des thèmes polonais)
Grand Duo concertant
Rapsodie hongroise XII
Die drei Zigeuner
La note
Benedictus und Offertorium for violin and pianoforte
Offertorium und Benedictus for violin and organ or harmonium
Walther von der Vogelweide for tenor and pianoforte with violin obbligato
Première Elégie for violin and pianoforte, with harmonium [or organ] ad lib.
Zweite Elegie for violin and pianoforte, with organ [or harmonium] ad lib.
Romance oubliée
Die Zelle in Nonnenwerth
La lugubre gondola