$13.34 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M060125454
ISMN: 9790060125454
Shop Product Code: 258888W

Status: Usually despatched within 24 - 48 hours

Series: Hawkes Pocket Scores

Department: Full Scores & Study Scores - Hawkes Pocket Scores

Instrumentation: Study Score - Hawkes Pocket Score 1484

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes

More Product Details

More about this work

More Product Details

Study score for trumpet and string orchestra.

Commissioned by The Scottish Ensemble and Perth Concert Hall.

A seraph is a celestial being or angel, usually and traditionally associated with trumpets. MacMillan’s "Seraph" is a concertino for trumpet and strings, in three short, contrasting movements, and a welcome addition to the instrument’s concerto repertoire, following the same composer’s "Epiclesis" (1993). "Seraph" is dedicated to Alison Balsom, who first performed the work in 2011 at Wigmore Hall, London, with the Scottish Ensemble. Although challenging to play, the work does not use extended techniques; it is therefore suitable for advanced standard students and professional soloists alike. In programming terms the work provides the perfect foil to string orchestra pieces from the baroque and classical periods.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!