MacMillan, James: Symphony No. 2 (Hawkes Pocket Score)

$30.03 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M060132148
ISMN: 9790060132148
Shop Product Code: 288849E
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
ISBN: 9781784542054
Symphony No. 2 (Hawkes Pocket Score)

Status: Usually shipped within 24 - 48 hours

Subtitle: HPS 1554

Series: Hawkes Pocket Scores

Department: Full Scores & Study Scores - Full Scores

Instrumentation: Chamber Orchestra (Study Score)

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes (London)

More Product Details

More about this work

More Product Details

Scored for chamber orchestra and dating from 1999, this work is built on MacMillan’s shorter Piano Sonata of 1985. That work was composed during a bitter Ayrshire winter: the composer recalls the barren trees and hard frozen ground of a landscape that was empty and silent but for the harsh, hollow cry from the rookeries. Throughout the three movements the music conveys a mood of elegy, despair and desolation. In Symphony no 2 the original has been ‘opened up’ to new forms of expansion, sometimes according to colouristic potential, at other times to dramatic or even originally unseen potential. The first movement is short and preparatory to the more extended second movement. The third movement is a brief postlude, almost an afterthought to what has been heard, during which some of the principal memories of the earlier movements are stated over some quotations from Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde. Orchestra materials available on hire. Suitable for advanced standard performers.


Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!