MacMillan, James: Symphony: 'Vigil' (Hawkes Pocket Score)

$43.25 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M060132131
ISMN: 9790060132131
Shop Product Code: 288852V
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
ISBN: 9781784542047
Symphony: 'Vigil' (Hawkes Pocket Score)

Status: Usually shipped within 24 - 48 hours

Subtitle: HPS 1552

Series: Hawkes Pocket Scores

Department: Full Scores & Study Scores - Full Scores

Instrumentation: Orchestra (Study Score)

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes (London)

More Product Details

More about this work

More Product Details

Symphony: ‘Vigil’ (1997) is the last of three interrelated works forming Triduum, commissioned by the London Symphony Orchestra, the other works being The World’s Ransoming, for cor anglais and orchestra, and the Cello Concerto (both 1996). All three relate to the historical events and religious liturgies of the Easter Triduum, namely Maundy Thursday, Good Friday and the Easter Vigil. The symphony’s first movement, ‘Light’, deals with the promise of a glimmer of light in the darkness. The central movement, ‘Tuba insonet salutaris’ (Sound the trumpet of salvation), is based on the Exsultet melody sung at the Easter Vigil, described by Mozart as probably the most beautiful ever written. The final movement, ‘Water’, opens savagely but subsides towards the presentation of two conflicting principal materials – a wild, ecstatic dance followed by a slower, more mysterious texture, leading to a climax and a luminous, floating close. Full orchestra materials available on hire. Suitable for advanced standard performers.


Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!