• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

The two vocal works featured on this disc encompass virtually the entire span of Markevitch’s compositional life, and the whole range of his style.

The works range from the gripping immediacy of Psaume, written at the age of 21, to the polished sophistication of Lorenzo The Magnificent, written a bare decade later yet almost marking the close of his brief output of original creative work.

Lorenzo The Magnificent is thus (apart from the remarkable orchestration amounting virtually to a recomposition of Bach’s A Musical Offering of 1949-50) Markevitch’s adieu as composer to the colours of the orchestra.

You may be interested in

Also By This Composer

  • Markevitch, Igor
    Complete Orchestral Works vol.6 La Taille de L’Homme (Naxos Audio CD)
  • Markevitch, Igor
    Complete Orchestral Works vol.1 Partita/Le Paradis Perdu (Naxos Audio CD)
  • Markevitch, Igor
    Complete Orchestral Works vol.4 Rebus/Hymnes/Hymne à la Mort (Naxos Audio CD)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications