Musgrave, M: Cambridge Companion To Brahms (Cambridge Companions to Music series)

$38.08 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 0521485819
Shop Product Code: 2318174
Cambridge Companion To Brahms (Cambridge Companions to Music series)

Status: Usually despatched within 10 - 12 working days

Series: Cambridge Companions to Music

Department: Biographies & Reference Books - Books & Literature (Classical)

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

More Product Details

More Product Details

This Companion gives a comprehensive view of the German composer Johannes Brahms (1833–97). Twelve specially-commissioned chapters by leading scholars and musicians provide systematic coverage of the composer’s life and works. Their essays represent the latest research and reflect changing attitudes towards a composer whose public image has long been out-of-date. The first part of the book contains three chapters on Brahms’s early life in Hamburg and on the middle and later years in Vienna. The central section considers the musical works in all genres, while the last part of the book offers personal accounts and responses from a conductor (Roger Norrington), a composer (Hugh Wood), and an editor of Brahms’s original manuscripts (Robert Pascall). The volume as a whole is an important addition to Brahms scholarship and provides indispensable information for all students and enthusiasts of Brahms’s music. Click here for more Cambridge Composer guides; Click here to see Cambridge Instrumental guides

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!