$41.74 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M202531877
ISMN: 9790202531877
Shop Product Code: 2001414
Marsyas II

Status: Usually shipped within 7 working days

Department: Orchestral & Band - String Orchestra

Instrumentation: Mixed Ensemble

Publisher: Bote & Bock

More Product Details

More about this work

More Product Details

Perfect Pairing

Score and parts - flute, viola, cello and piano

The satyr Marsyas who, according to Greek mythology, was the greatest musician of his time and was flayed by Apollo because of his ecstatic nature, is regarded by the composer Olga Neuwirth as embodiment of the quintessential artistic ideal. Her piano piece Marsyas of 2004, inspired by Anish Kapoor's sensational installation at London's Tate Modern, was followed by a sister work for quartet. It was premiered at the festival 'Spannungen' at the power plant of Heimbach in June 2005 and reflects the aspects of the ecstatic and sensual, of the foreign and brutal while changing the perspective like a sculpture.


Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!