Reichardt, Sarah: Composing the Modern Subject: Four String Quartets by Dmitri Shostakovich (Ashgate Books) Hardback

$60.09 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 9780754658849

Status: Usually despatched within 10 working days


Department: Biographies & Reference Books - Books & Literature (Classical)

More Product Details

More Product Details


Contents and Reviews


Contents: Introduction: musical meaning and analytical tools; Shostakovich and the modern subject; The end that is no end: cadences and closure in the 6th string quartet, Op.101 (1956); The space between: codas, death and the 7th string quartet, Op108 (1960); Musical hauntings: the ritual of conjuration in Shostakovich's 8th string quartet, Op.110 (1960); The indivisible remainder: novelization in the 9th string quartet, Op.117 (1964); Epilogue: music and the real; Bibliography; Index.