Alan Ridout: The Fourteen Stations of the Cross for Organ


Catalogue No: 1400014
Shop Product Code: 1040914
More Product Codes

More Product Codes
ISBN: 9781862095014

Status: Usually despatched within 10 - 12 working days

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Organ

Instrumentation: Organ

Publisher: Kevin Mayhew

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

Trinity College London Organ 2015-2018456 
An immensely impressive and mature composition for the recital organist. In turn dramatic, harrowing and tender, this music is specially suited to Lenten and Holy Week use, but it is ideal as the centrepiece of any programme.

The work was inspired by the sculptured reliefs of the Stations that are on view in the Cistercian monastic church in Altenburg, Germany. Each of the first thirteen pieces are a variation on a theme which is only heard in its complete form when the fourteenth Station is reached.


Contents and Reviews

Jesus is condemned to death
Jesus receives his cross
Jesus falls the first time
Jesus meets his blessed mother
The cross is laid upon Simon of Cyrene
Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
Jesus falls the second time
Jesus speaks to the women of Jerusalem
Jesus falls the third time
Jesus is stripped of his garments
Jesus is nailed to the cross
Jesus dies on the cross
Jesus is taken down from the cross
Jesus is laid in the sepulchre