Robert Schumann: Paganini Etudes Op. 3& Op. 10 piano

$33.10 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: HN614
Shop Product Code: 1789124
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Paganini Etudes Op. 3& Op. 10 piano

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Piano Solo

Publisher: Henle

More Product Details

More Product Details

Robert Schumann was fascinated by the violin virtuoso Nicolò Paganini, as were many composers of the time. When he was planning a piano tutor in 1832/33 that was to include his own works as well as those by others, Schumann took a close look at Paganini’s virtuosic Caprices for violin. Schumann’s own Caprices op. 3 were composed in this spirit, based very closely on Paganini’s original and following their educational intention. Opus 10, on the other hand, deals more freely with the model and is designed more with an effective performance in mind. Our Urtext edition of all of the Paganini Studies is supplemented by the composer’s extensive explanation on their execution, which he placed at the beginning of his Opus 3.


Contents and Reviews


Caprice 1, Agitato op. 3 Caprice 2, Allegretto op. 3 Caprice 3, Andante op. 3 Caprice 4, Allegro op. 3 Caprice 5, Lento. Allegro assai op. 3 Caprice 6, Allegro molto op. 3 Etude 1 op. 10 Etude 2 op. 10 Etude 3 op. 10 Etude 4 op. 10 Etude 5 op. 10 Etude 6 op. 10