Dmitri Shostakovich: Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District Op 29 (Opus Arte DVD)

Special Offer  

RRP: $51.83 *
Now: $44.06 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: OA0965D
Shop Product Code: 2668824
Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District Op 29 (Opus Arte DVD)

Status: Usually despatched within 10 - 12 working days

Subtitle: opera in 4 acts

Department: DVDs - Save up to 15% - Classical DVDs

Publisher: Select Music

More Product Details

More Product Details

Eva-Maria Westbroek
Christopher Ventris
Carole Wilson
Vladimir Vaneev
Lani Poulson
Ludovít Ludha
Alexandre Kravets

Chorus of De Nederlandse Opera
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Mariss Jansons, conductor

Stage Director Martin Kušej
TV Director Thomas Grimm

Shostakovich’s musically brilliant and ingeniously panoramic opera about love, lust, power and oppression is fabulously well played by the Concertgebouw Orchestra under Mariss Jansons in this authoritative production. Stage director Martin Kusej builds on formidable musical strengths to forge a relentless drama that explores with emotional conviction the shadowy, layered boundaries between victims and perpetrators. First-rate protagonist Eva-Maria Westbroek is phenomenal in her gripping interpretation of Katarina, compelling the entire cast, including the choir, to almost unbearable realism in their portrayal of timeless human weaknesses.

Illustrated Synopsis & Cast Gallery

The Tragedy of Katerina Ismailova - A documentary film by Reiner E. Moritz, including interviews with Martin Kušej, Mariss Jansons and leading members of the cast

‘…a first-rate protagonist in Eva-Maria Westbroek, a Katerina of Jean Harlow-like allure, who had all the vocal power and stamina that the role demands…’ FT

Awards & Accolades:
MIDEM Classical DVD Nomination 2008

Diapason d’Or de L’annee (2007)

Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik (Bestenliste 1/2007)

10 de Classica Répertoire (Dec 2006)

ffff télérama (Feb 2007)

Diapason d’Or (Feb 2007)

CHOC du Monde de la Musique (Feb 2007)

Caecilia Prijs (May 2007)

Grand Prix du Disque Lyrique

Edison (2007)

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!