Simone, Nina: Nina Simone Live In ’65 & ’68 (Jazz Icons DVD)

Special Offer  

RRP: $23.42 *
Now: $19.91 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 2119014
Shop Product Code: 2738294
Nina Simone Live In ’65 & ’68 (Jazz Icons DVD)

Status: Usually despatched within 10 - 12 working days

Series: Jazz Icons DVDs

Department: DVDs - Save up to 15% - Jazz DVDs: Performances

Publisher: Select Music

More Product Details

More Product Details

Nina Simone features in two incredible concerts from 1965 and 1968 showcasing the multi-faceted diva in all her glory. Simone shines as a jazz vocalist extraordinaire on “Tomorrow is My Turn”, as a definitive folk interpreter on Bob Dylan’s “The Ballad of Hollis Brown” and as a passionate civil rights activist on both the epic “Four Women” and the scorching “Mississippi Goddam”.

This DVD is a must for Nina Simone fans as she displays all of the qualities that made her both a supremely gifted jazz singer and pianist as well as the “High Priestess of Soul”.

“The release of JAZZ ICONS is like the unearthing of a musical time capsule – an audio-visual treasure trove of the music that changed the world. From an educational standpoint this series is a gift to our culture.” --Quincy Jones

Picture Format: 4:3, b/w, 1 DVD
Sound Format: Mono
Running Time: 67 mins
Region Code: NTSC All
Booklet Languages: E
Territory: Worldwide

Contents and Reviews


HOLLAND ’65 Brown Baby, four Women, The Ballad of Hollis Brown, Tomorrow is my Turn / Images, Go Limp, Mississippi Goddam ENGLAND ’68 Go To Hell, Ain’t Got No: I Got Life, Backlash Blues, I Put a Spell On You, Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood, Why? (The King Of Love Is Dead) SPECIAL FEATURES 24 page booklet featuring: -liner notes by Rob Bowman -foreword by Nina’s daughter Lisa ‘Simone’ Kelly -rare photographs -memorabilia collage