• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

The first four symphonic poems from Smetana’s six-part cycle Má vlast (My Country) were written in 1874–75 and arranged for piano duet shortly after the completion of the fourth part, From Bohemia’s Woods and Fields. All six parts were issued for the first time by the publisher Urbánek, beginning with the piano duet arrangements (1879-80).

The score of From Bohemia’s Woods and Fields was published by Urbánek in 1881. Owing to its many misprints, Hugh Macdonald has based his new edition on the autograph score while consulting the first edition as well as the autograph and print of the composer’s own version for piano duet.

You may be interested in

Also By This Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications