Thomas, Anne Marsden: Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals only, Book 1

$15.07 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 9780193372634
Shop Product Code: 2456174
Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals only, Book 1

Status: Usually despatched within 5 working days

Series: Oxford Service Music for Organ

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Organ

Publisher: Oxford University Press

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

ABRSM Organ from 2011123
This is a major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities. Compiler and editor Anne Marsden Thomas has drawn on her long experience of teaching and playing to select the most attractive, tuneful repertoire in two new sets of graded anthologies, one set (3 volumes) for manuals only, the second set (3 volumes) for manuals and pedals.

Within each book the pieces are grouped according to service needs into Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, and Postludes. The repertoire spans the 16th to the 21st century, with some new pieces written especially for the collection. A number of pieces throughout the collection have been selected for the ABRSM organ syllabus.
The result is a wonderful collection of repertoire for all players, containing a wealth of attractive and varied pieces that will offer much practical support for church musicians and enrich and develop their playing. Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 1 was winner of the Music Industries Association's Best Classical Publication 2011.

- Major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities
- Each book groups pieces according to service needs: Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, Postludes
- Tuneful, attractive repertoire, spanning 16th-21st cents. with some new pieces written especially for the collection
- Major composers for the instrument well represented
- Pieces edited afresh to present music clearly and practically for players, with registration and tempo suggestions for each piece
- Strong representation in new ABRSM syllabus (from 2011)
- Graded collection: approx. book 1 Grades 1-4; book 2 Gr. 4-6, book 3 Gr. 6-8
- High-profile editor, leading teacher and concert organist

Contents and Reviews


Maurice Greene: Andante Alan Bullard: Meditation J. G. Walther: Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier J. S. Bach: Ach, was soll ich Sünder machen? Henry Purcell: Air Léon Boëllmann: Musette Samuel Wesley: Prelude J.-J. Beauvarlet-Charpentier: Récit de Nazard Henry Coleman: The Word of God J. G. Walther: Warum sollt ich mich denn grämen Rebecca Groom te Velde: Veni, veni, Emmanuel John Stanley: Slow William Walond: Siciliana Samuel Scheidt: Da Jesus an dem Kreuze stund Samuel Wesley: Andantino J. S. Bach: Nun freut euch, lieben Christen gmein C. S. Lang: Horsley J. G. Walther: Herzlich thut mich verlangen G. F. Handel: Adagio J. H. Knecht: Contrapunct W. T. Best: Andante John Stanley: Adagio David Blackwell: Meditation William Hine: Interlude Gottlieb Muffat: Fughetta J. C. Rinck: Prelude J. H. Knecht: Cantabile Girolamo Frescobaldi: Allegro J. B. Litzau: Andante James Hook: Andantino Thomas Adams: Fanfare J.-F. Dandrieu: Duo en Canon Georg Boehm: Ach wie nichtig, ach wie flüchtig Henry Heron: Processional Anon.: Prelude John Blow: Air Charles Wesley: Larghetto John James: Adagio E. N. Ammerbach: Wer das Töchterlein haben wil J. C. Kittel: Fughetta John Alcock: Diapason Movement J. H. Knecht: Fughetta J.-F. Dandrieu: Offertoire Domenico Zipoli: Verso John Alcock: Trumpet Piece Dietrich Buxtehude: Canzonetta C. S. Lang: Regent Square M.-A. Charpentier: Nöel en Duo Jakob Paix: Ist mir ein fein braun Meg Thomas Thorley: Dance J. G. Walther: Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr Alan Bullard: Joyful March J. A. C. de Seixas: Toccata William Boyce: Trumpet Piece Henry Purcell: Hornpipe G. B. Pescetti: Presto Johann Pachelbel: Treuer Gott, ich muss dir klagen C. S. Lang: St Anne David Blackwell: Pentagram I Vincent Lübeck: Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr Thomas Dupuis: Gavotte with Variations Samuel Wesley: Animated J. S. Bach: Gottes Sohn ist kommen J.-F. Dandrieu: Grand Jeu F. W. Zachow: Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich hier