Thomas, Anne Marsden: Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals only, Book 2

$16.13 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 9780193372641
Shop Product Code: 245621K
Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals only, Book 2

Status: Usually despatched within 24 - 48 hours

Series: Oxford Service Music for Organ

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Organ

Publisher: Oxford University Press

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

ABRSM Organ from 201145
This is a major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities. Compiler and editor Anne Marsden Thomas has drawn on her long experience of teaching and playing to select the most attractive, tuneful repertoire in two new sets of graded anthologies, one set (3 volumes) for manuals only, the second set (3 volumes) for manuals and pedals.

Within each book the pieces are grouped according to service needs into Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, and Postludes. The repertoire spans the 16th to the 21st century, with some new pieces written especially for the collection. A number of pieces throughout the collection have been selected for the ABRSM organ syllabus.
The result is a wonderful collection of repertoire for all players, containing a wealth of attractive and varied pieces that will offer much practical support for church musicians and enrich and develop their playing. Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 1 was winner of the Music Industries Association's Best Classical Publication 2011.

- Major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities
- Each book groups pieces according to service needs: Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, Postludes
- Tuneful, attractive repertoire, spanning 16th-21st cents. with some new pieces written especially for the collection
- Major composers for the instrument well represented
- Pieces edited afresh to present music clearly and practically for players, with registration and tempo suggestions for each piece
- Strong representation in new ABRSM syllabus (from 2011)
- Graded collection: approx. book 1 Grades 1-4; book 2 Gr. 4-6, book 3 Gr. 6-8
- High-profile editor, leading teacher and concert organist

Contents and Reviews


François Couperin: Trio (7e couplet du Gloria) J. G. Walther: Jesu Leiden, Pein und Tod William Walton: Elegy Johannes Brahms: Schmücke dich, O liebe Seele John Stanley: Andante G. F. Handel: Largo H. W. Tauscher: Nun danket alle Gott César Franck: Offertoire John Keeble: Diapason Movement Dietrich Buxtehude: Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, der den Tod überwand Johann Krebs: Erbarm dich mein, O Herre Gott William Blitheman: Christe qui lu J. G. Walther: Christus, der ist mein Leben Alan Bullard: Peaceful Prelude Christopher Gibbons: Verse for the (Double) Organ Thomas Adams: Andante Johann Pachelbel: Christus, der ist mein Leben Tylman Susato: Pavane J. H. Knecht: Grazioso Léon Boëllmann: Lento M. G. Fischer: Interlude Thomas Tallis: A Point William Croft: Slow César Franck: Andantino Johann Speth: Magnificat Verse Anon. Spanish: Verse G. A. Merkel: Processional William Goodwin: Largo Léon Boëllmann: Largamente J. J. Froberger: Ricercare Anon. Spanish: Verse William Byrd: Galliard J. S. Bach: Prelude Starling Goodwin: Largo Gottlieb Muffat: Fugue Anon.: Allemande 'The Prince' F. W. Zachow: Prelude J. S. Bach: O Lamm Gottes unschuldig J.-F. Dandrieu: Dialogue G. F. Kauffmann: Valet will ich dir geben Johann Krebs: Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan G. P. Telemann: Fantasia Flor Peeters: Postludium W. A. Mozart: Capriccio C. S. Lang: St Fulbert Domenico Zipoli: Canzona Gerhardus Scronx: Echo Fantasie Samuel Wesley: Gavotte J. G. Walther: Herr Christ, der einig Gottes Sohn Johann Krebs: Sei Lob und Ehr dem höchsten Gut Louis Marchand: Basse de Trompette John James: Voluntary Peter Hurford: A Fancy