Various: Oxford Hymn Settings for Organists 1: Advent and Christmas


Catalogue No: 9780193392335
Shop Product Code: 2672556
More Product Codes

More Product Codes
ISBN: 978-0-19-339233-5

Status: Usually despatched within 24 - 48 hours

Subtitle: 38 original pieces on hymns and carols

Editor: Rebecca Groom te Velde & David Blackwell

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Organ

Instrumentation: Organ

Publisher: Oxford University Press

More Product Details

More Product Details

Perfect Pairing

- New settings for organ of all the major hymn tunes for the season
- Fresh, imaginative new pieces, written by a range of experienced organ composers based in the US and the UK, and displaying a great variety of styles and approaches
- Practical, concise settings for all parts of the church service - preludes, postludes, fanfares, communion settings
= Pieces suitable for busy church musicians at intermediate level working in all major denominations
- Some pieces also suitable for recital use
- Registration suggestions that can readily be adapted to suit most instruments with pedals

Themed by season, the volumes in this series provide a wealth of new chorale preludes and hymn settings suitable for all church organists. With a host of accessible pieces based on all the major hymn tunes, these volumes are a must for every church organist's library.


Contents and Reviews

David Blackwell: Adeste, fideles (Fantasia)
David Schelat: Adeste, fideles (Pastorale)
Mary Beth Bennett: Antioch
Rebecca Groom te Velde: Besançon/Carol of the Advent
Malcolm Archer: Bristol
Craig Phillips: Carol
Rebecca Groom te Velde: Conditor alme siderum
Malcolm Archer: Cradle Song
Simon Lole: Cranham
Ashley Grote: Cross of Jesus
David Blackwell: Divinum mysterium/Corde natus
Mary Beth Bennett: Es ist ein' Ros' entsprungen
David Bednall: Forest Green
Michael Bedford: Gabriel's Message
Michael Bedford: Gloria/Iris
Rebecca Groom te Velde: God rest you merry
A. D. Miller: Go, tell it on the mountain
James Vivian: Helmsley
James Vivian: In dulci jubilo
Philip Moore: Irby
Alan Bullard: Little Cornard
James Biery: Mendelssohn
David Thorne: Merton
David Schelat: Mueller
David Thorne: Noel
Rebecca Groom te Velde: O Jesulein süss
Rebecca Groom te Velde: Personent hodie
Craig Philips: Picardy
Craig Philips: Psalm 42/Genevan
A. D. Miller: St Louis
David Blackwell: St Stephen
Alan Bullard: Stille Nacht
Christopher Tambling: Still, still, still
Ashley Grote: The first Nowell
Philip Moore: Veni Emmanuel
A. D. Miller: Wachet auf
Christopher Tambling: Winchester New
David Blackwell: Winchester Old