Vaughan Williams, Ralph: Concerto for bass tuba and orchestra (tuba and piano)

$19.80 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 9780193386761
Shop Product Code: 021986S
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
ISBN: 978-0-19-338676-1
Concerto for bass tuba and orchestra (tuba and piano)

Status: Usually despatched within 24 - 48 hours

Subtitle: New edition

Editor: Matthews, David

Department: Brass - Tuba

Instrumentation: Tuba & Piano

Publisher: Oxford University Press

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

LCM Baritone & Euphonium 7 
LCM Tuba 78
The Concerto for Bass Tuba and Orchestra was composed in 1953-4 to mark the 50th anniversary of the formation of the LSO and was written for the orchestra's principal tuba player, Philip Catelinet. It was the first major concerto to be written for the instrument, and remains today the outstanding work of its kind. This new edition is based on all extant sources and contains full textual notes and a discussion of the editorial method. Notable additions are the inclusion of two sets of phrasing for the Romanza-one from the first publication, largely influenced by Catelinet, and the other from Vaughan Williams's manuscript-and the original cadenza to the first movement. The arrangement for tuba and piano has been updated in light of the research carried out by David Matthews, and all orchestral parts have been revised.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!