$33.10 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 0571519830
Shop Product Code: 252991C
Quintet in D major (Score and Parts)

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Chamber - Mixed Ensemble

Publisher: Faber Music

More Product Details

More Product Details

Piano Score and parts to Ralph Vaughan Williams' Quintet in D major (1898) for Clarinet, Horn, Violin, Cello and Piano.

'Quintet in D' is in four movements: Allegro moderato, an Allegretto Intermezzo, Andantino and an Allegro molto finale. If it only fitfully contains elements of the mature Vaughan Williams, it is a delightful work in its own right, with playful touches and more than a ration of charm. The writing for piano is very accomplished and shatters the myth, much propagated by the composer himself, that he lacked technique. It is like anglicised Brahms with a sense of humour, notably in the Intermezzo, and there is even an allusion to the slow movement of Brahms’ Fourth Symphony in the Andantino. The total duration is about 25 minutes.

Published by Faber Music.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!