Vierne, Louis: Complete Piano Works, Volume I: The Early Works

Special Offer  

RRP: $35.27 *
Now: $33.51 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: BA9611
ISMN: 9790006535828
Shop Product Code: 225463M
Complete Piano Works, Volume I: The Early Works

Status: Usually despatched within 24 - 48 hours

Subtitle: Anthology, Urtext edition

Editor: Leersnyder, Brigitte de

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Piano Solo

Publisher: Bärenreiter

More Product Details

More Product Details

Louis Vierne was a celebrated organist but throughout his life he was also a keen pianist and composer of piano music. He had a particular feeling for the tonal finesse and riches the instrument offered. The pieces in this volume, which include some works published for the first time, date from Vierne’s early years and are in the tradition of the Romantic character piece. In both their harmonic language and their elegant feeling for sonority, they reveal Vierne’s individual musical language. These pieces are mainly of medium technical difficulty and are therefore suitable for a broader spectrum of pianists.

The editor, Brigitte de Leersnyder, is a pianist and piano teacher. She has researched Louis Vierne’s piano music for many years and has published a comprehensive and highly-regarded monograph on the composer.

- Scholarly-critical Urtext edition based on all available sources
- First publication of previously unknown compositions
- Comprehensive critical commentary (Fr/Ger/Eng) including numerous facsimile pages
- Detailed foreword (Fr/Ger/Eng) on the genesis of the works and on performance practice

Contents and Reviews


• Préface • Louis Vierne - Repères biographiques • Author: Leersnyder, Brigitte de - Louis Vierne: Les premières oeuvres pour le piano • Author: Leersnyder, Brigitte de - Les oeuvres • Preface • Louis Vierne - Biographical overview • Author: Leersnyder, Brigitte de - Louis Vierne: the early works for the piano • Author: Leersnyder, Brigitte de - The works • Vorwort • Louis Vierne - Biographische Übersicht • Author: Leersnyder, Brigitte de - Louis Vierne: Die frühen Klavierwerke • Author: Leersnyder, Brigitte de - Die Werke • Facsimiles: Airs de danse, title page Airs de danse, Les esprits de la nuit Deux pièces op. 7: 1. Impression d'automne (published in 1895) 2. Intermezzo published in 1893 Suite bourguignonne (Sept pièces pour piano) op. 17 (published in 1900): 1. Aubade 2. Idylle 3. Divertissement 4. Légende bourguignonne 5. À l'Angélus du soir 6. Danse rustique 7. Clair de lune Air á danser (published in 1910) Airs de danse (probably 1911–1912): [1. Les paysannes (lost piece)] 2. Le vieux berger (attributed work, first edition) 3. Les esprits de la nuit (first edition) • Rapport critique: I. Abréviations II. Principes éditoriaux III. Sources / Notes détaillées • Critical Report: I. Abbreviations II. Editorial policies III. Sources / Detailed references • Kritischer Bericht: I. Abkürzungen II. Zur Editionstechnik III. Quellen / Einzelnachweise