$33.92 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: HH295
Sonatas, Op. 5, Volume III

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Editor: Perkins, Martin

Department: Strings - Violin

Publisher: Edition HH

More Product Details

More Product Details

Giovanni Vitali’s set of twelve sonatas Op. 5 for various combinations of strings and continuo, published in 1669, was the Bolognese composer's most ambitious collection of chamber music to date. He most likely wrote it as an application piece for membership of the prestigious Accademia Filarmonica, for each sonata has a dedicatory subtitle bearing the name of one of the city’s noblemen. This third volume contains three works – the sonatas for two violins, viola, violone and organ continuo.

Although these pieces require 'organo' according to the practice of 'church sonata' (i.e. non dance-works) a harpsichord can be used equally effectively.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!