Goldschmidt, Berthold : Capriccio for violin (1991-92)  6'

for violin solo

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Akademie der Kunste, Berlin
Kolja Lessing, vln

Repertoire Note

Many of Goldschmidt’s later works were written with specific performers in mind, such as the Clarinet Quartet for Gervase de Peyer, the Rondeau ‘Rue du Rocher’ for Chantal Juillet and the Fourth String Quartet for the Mandelring Quartet. The Capriccio for solo violin was written for Kolja Lessing "in admiration for his virtuosity and artistry as both violinist and pianist". The work is in two parts, the fast and virtuosic second section balanced by a slow and more introspective introduction. At 6 minutes, the Capriccio is a perfect vehicle for a soloist who may wish to break up a recital with a short unaccompanied work.

More on this Composer