Goldschmidt, Berthold : Ciaccona Sinfonica (1936)  13'

for orchestra

2(II=picc).2(II=corA).2(II=bcl).2(II=dbn)- glsp/tgl/tam-t/cym/tamb/BD/xyl-harp-strings
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Vienna Symphony Orchestra / Harold Byrns

Repertoire Note

The Ciaccona Sinfonica was the work that brought Goldschmidt’s name to the attention of a wider audience thanks to performances conducted by Simon Rattle at the Berlin Festival in 1987 and at the BBC Proms in 1994. In three movements, the work is based on a tonally ambiguous chaconne theme which provides the basis for a masterly and ingenious set of variations. All the main characteristics of Goldschmidt’s style are to be found in this stirring piece which, at 12 minutes, could effectively begin either half of an orchestral concert.

More on this Composer