Turnage, Mark-Anthony : Chicago Remains (2007)  16'

for orchestra

4(III=picc,afl;IV=picc).2.corA.3(III=bcl).bcl.ssax.2(II=dbn).dbn-4.4.3.euph.1-timp.perc(6):vib/marimba/t.bells/tuned gongs/Japanese temple bells/rin/2cowbells/crot/maracas/guiro/2BD(lg)/sizzle cym(sm)/susp.cym(sm)/gong(sm)/tam-t(lg)/sandpaper blocks-harp-pft(=cel)-strings
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Symphony Center, Chicago, IL
Chicago Symphony Orchestra / Bernard Haitink KBE

Press Quotes


"Of the countless pieces of music inspired by Chicago, none that I have heard captures the true grit of our town better than Mark-Anthony Turnage's Chicago Remains... The composer hears Chicago as a Nelson Algren-like city on the make, a modern metropolis of pile-driver shocks, perpetually shifting meters and blunt, unruly beauty... Turnage has added an impressive new piece to his considerable oeuvre."
Chicago Tribune

More on this Composer