Shostakovich, Dmitri : Two Pieces (Prelude and Scherzo)  op. 11 (1924/25)  11'

for string octet or string orchestra

Parts augmented for string orchestra, including a version with double basses by Lazar Gozman
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the UK, countries of the Commonwealth (excluding Canada) and the Republic of Ireland.

World Premiere
Stanislavsy Art Theatre Mozart Hall, Moscow
Gliere & Stradivari Quartets

Repertoire Note

One of the strangest of Shostakovich’s early work is this short octet for strings. Based on the famous Mendelssohn combination of a double string quartet, it consists of a wistful prelude and a fleeting scherzo. The piece is dedicated to the memory of a young friend of the composer, a promising poet, who had died unexpectedly.

Note by Gerard McBurney

More on this Composer