Carter, Elliott : Oboe Quartet (2001)  17'

for oboe and string trio

Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Matthaeuskirche, Lucerne
Heinz Holliger, oboe / Thomas Zehetmair/Ruth Killius/Thomas Demenga

Composer's Notes

The Oboe Quartet is built up from a series of six duets, which cover every possible combination of the four instruments.  Each duet lasts just a minute or two, and the other two instruments provide an accompaniment.  When I wrote the Oboe Concerto for Heinz Holliger, he showed me the amazing things he could do, such as multiphonics and glissandi, and I incorporated them into the concerto.  But this new piece doesn’t have any of those sounds in it.  My works now are not really experimental in terms of special effects, but rather in the way the music is organized.

Elliott Carter

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

More on this Composer