Birtwistle, Harrison : Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (2009-10)  25'

for solo violin and orchestra

2(II=picc).2(II=corA).3(I=Ebcl,II=bcl,III=dbcl).2(II=dbn)- bamboo guiro,c.40cm)/claves/cast machine/tamb/4bongos/BD(lg)/susp.cym/nipple gong(lo)/tam-t-2harp-stirngs(
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Symphony Hall, Boston, MA
Christian Tetzlaff, violin / Boston Symphony Orchestra / Marcelo Lehninger

Press Quotes

"A work of true originality... a continuous 25-minute span that evokes traditional form while always keeping at a subtle remove from it. It is as though Birtwistle has to rediscover the concerto paradigm from scratch... Ideas flow forth, are “discussed” by the soloists, the concertino-chorus, the tutti, but are not “argued” over... Clear to begin with — Birtwistle really has ensured that the soloist’s every note is audible — the concerto seemed increasingly inevitable and substantial."
Sunday Times

More on this Composer