Stravinsky, Igor : Agon (1953-57)  23'

Ballet for twelve dancers

3(III=picc).2.corA.2.bcl.2.dbn- harp-mandolin-pft-strings
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
New York, NY
George Balanchine, choreographer / New York City Ballet / Robert Irving

Repertoire Note

Thanks to Balanchine, Agon is by far the best-known of Stravinsky's non-tonal works. A distillation of rhythmic energies, of dance gestures, of deft instrumentation (with prominent parts for mandolin, harp, timpani, and castanets), it is a plotless ballet whose long gestation accounts for its exceptional range of tonal and serial ingredients.

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to Boosey & Hawkes/Joseph Horowitz.

More on this Composer