Stravinsky, Igor : Capriccio (1928-29,rev.1949)  17'

for piano and orchestra

3(III=picc).2.corA.3(II=Ebcl,III=bcl).2- quartet-strings
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note

Following the success of the Concerto for piano and winds, Stravinsky composed a second keyboard vehicle for himself with orchestra. On the heels of his Tchaikovsky ballet, The Fairy's Kiss, the Capriccio is as playful as the concerto was earnest: its toccata energy is tongue-in-cheek. The dancing, leaping piano part generates a music-hall ebullience. Stravinsky compared the second movement cadenza, with its cimbalom-like hammerings and scales, to "a kind of Rumanian restaurant music." However fortuitously, the Capriccio and Concerto are foils for one another; they comprise a satisfying pairing.

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to Boosey & Hawkes/Joseph Horowitz.

More on this Composer