Bach - Stravinsky : Chorale Variations 'Vom Himmel hoch da komm' ich her' (1956)  15'

for chorus and orchestra

Music Text


Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note

Envisioned as a companion piece to the Canticum Sacrum – the instrumental forces, excluding violins and cellos, are nearly identical – this set of five variations orchestrates music published for organ in 1748. The chorus sings the unharmonized chorale melody; the elaborately canonic instrumental lines – including some by Stravinsky – dance over and below.

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to Boosey & Hawkes/Joseph Horowitz.