Britten, Benjamin : Peter Grimes  op. 33  op. 33b (1945)  7'

for orchestra

2(=picc).2.2.2.dbn- TD-harp-cel-strings
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note

Anyone who has visited the coastline around Aldeburgh will recognize the uncanny certainty with which Britten has captured that land- and seascape in his Four Sea Interludes, one of the great portrayals of the sea in all music. The turbulent Passacaglia (which divides the two scenes of Act 2 of the opera) is, on the other hand, a portrait of Grimes himself.

More on this Composer