Strauss, Richard : Capriccio  op. 85 (1940-41)  130'

A conversation piece for music

Music Text

Libretto by Clemens Krauss (G,E,F,I)

Major roles: dramS,dramA,heldT,2Bar,B; minor roles: S,2T,B; chorus: 4T,4B 3(III=picc).2.corA.3.bhn.bcl.3(III=dbn)- hpd-2harp-strings( On-stage: vln.vlc-hpd; backstage: string sextet
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for all countries except Germany, Italy, Portugal, Danzig, and the former territories of the USSR.

For full details on this stagework, including synopsis and roles, please visit our Opera section.

World Premiere
Nationaltheater, Munich
Bavarian State Opera / Clemens Krauss

More on this Composer