• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere

Perth Concert Hall, UK, Perth
Amy Dickson, saxophone / Scottish Chamber Orchestra / Joseph Swensen

Composer's Notes

My short saxophone concerto (each movement is about 5 minutes in duration) is based on archetypes of Scottish traditional music. The first movement follows the pattern of a medley of fast dance forms, each section becoming faster and faster. Nevertheless, the music moves into unexpected territory, with markings like ‘feroce’, ‘strepitoso’ and ‘misterioso’.

The second movement loosely follows the practice of singing Gaelic psalmody in the Scottish western isles, where a cantor (in this case the saxophone soloist) leads with a melodic line, to be followed by the congregation (the string orchestra) who weave a heterophonic texture out of the canonic flow of parts. The music settles eventually into a series of wispy fragments on the saxophone, accompanied by pizzicato pluckings over a low B major chord.

The last movement is based on the simple compound rhythm of the jig, marked ‘giocoso’. The main melody is thrown around between the different sections of the orchestra, all playing pizzicato. The tonality becomes unsettled when the soloist enters and gradually the music develops into unexpected contexts. After a brief cadenza the music settles into a static, spectral chord with ethereal slidings on the cellos, under fading fragments on solo saxophone.

Programme note © James MacMillan 2018

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer.

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications