Britten, Benjamin : Soirées musicales  op. 9 (1936)  11'

Suite of Five Movements from Rossini

2(II=picc).2.2.2-; reduced version:
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note

Britten composed two sparkling orchestral suites both based on themes by Rossini – Soirées musicales and Matineés musicales, op. 24. They revel in dance rhythms (both were choreographed by Balanchine) and demonstrate Britten’s orchestral mastery and tongue-in-cheek sense of humour. Widely performed by amateur and youth orchestras, these two suites provide substantial and exciting additions to any children’s or pops concert.

More on this Composer