Strauss, Richard : Elektra  op. 58 (1906-8)  100'

Tragedy in one act

Music Text

Libretto by Hugo von Hofmannsthal (G,Cz,E,F,I)

Major roles: 2dramS,M,T,Bar; minor roles: 5S,2M,A,T,2B,mimes; chorus 3(III=picc).picc.3(III=corA).heckelphone.4.Ebcl.2bhn.bcl.3.dbn- 8(V-VIII=ttba).6.btpt.4.1-timp(2).perc(3-4):glsp/tgl/ tamb/SD/whip/cyms/BD/tam-t-cel-2harp-strings(vln8.8.8, vla6(=vlnIV).6.6,vlc6.6,db8)
Reduced scoring: 3(II,III=picc).3(III=corA).3(III=Ebcl).bcl.3(III=dbn) - cym)/tam-t/2cast- 2harp-strings(vln8.8.8,vla6(=vlnIV).6.6,vlc6.6,db8)
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for all countries except Germany, Italy, Portugal, Danzig, and the former territories of the USSR.

For full details on this stagework, including synopsis and roles, please visit our Opera section.

World Premiere
Opernhaus, Dresden
Dresden Hofoper / Ernst von Schuch

More on this Composer