• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Tanglewood Festival of Contemporary Music: Carter, Chin, Chapela

The 2009 Festival of Contemporary Music at Tanglewood will present a wide array of new music from Boosey & Hawkes and its agencies. On August 8, musicians from the Tanglewood Music Center under the direction of Stefan Asbury will perform Unsuk Chin’s Akrostichon-Wortspiel, (“Acrostic Wordplay”), for soprano and ensemble. The work consists of seven scenes from the fairy tales The Endless Story by Michael Ende and Alice Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll. Also to be performed is Zoltan Jeney’s Cantos para Todos [EMB] for female voice and ensemble, with texts from the poems of Gonzalo Millán and an unknown Chilean poet.

On August 9, musicians from the Tanglewood Music Center will perform Pascal Dusapin’s Comoedia [Salabert] for soprano and six instrumentalists, Philippe Manoury’s Last [Durand] for bass clarinet and marimba, and Ivan Fedele’s Maja [Zerboni] for soprano and ensemble with an Italian text by Giuliano Corti, at Seiji Ozawa Hall. The complete world premiere of Elliott Carter’s Poems of Louis Zukofsky will be performed with soprano Lucy Shelton and clarinetist Stanley Drucker. Portions of the piece were first heard at the New York Philharmonic on December 13, 2008, with the same soloists, as part of Carter’s 100th birthday celebration.

Enrico Chapela’s Ínguesu will be performed with the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra on August 10, under the direction of Stefan Asbury. The piece incorporates the greatest achievement in Mexican soccer, the winning of the FIFA Confederation Cup against Brazil in Mexico City in 1999, as its main theme. Two days prior to this performance, Marin Alsop will lead the piece in its West Coast premiere at Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music.

For more information, please visit www.tanglewood.org.

> Further information on Work: Akrostichon-Wortspiel

> Further information on Work: Ínguesu

>  Further information on Work: Poems of Louis Zukofsky

Photo: Hilary Scott

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications