• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English     Deutsch    

The music of Michael Torke has been called "some of the most optimistic, joyful and thoroughly uplifting music to appear in recent years" (_Gramophone_). Hailed as a "vitally inventive composer" (_Financial Times_) and "a master orchestrator whose shimmering timbral palette makes him the Ravel of his generation" (_New York Times_), Michael Torke has created a substantial body of works in virtually every genre, each with a characteristic personal stamp that combines restless rhythmic energy with ravishingly beautiful melodies. By any measure, Torke is one of the most successful composers of his generation as well, as evidenced by two large-scale, high-profile pieces that premiered during 1999. _Strawberry Fields_, a one-act opera jointly commissioned by Glimmerglass Opera, New York City Opera, and WNET's "Great Performances" television program (PBS) made its debut at Glimmerglass in July to widespread critical acclaim. _Four Seasons_, a 62-minute symphonic oratorio for vocal soloists, two choruses, and large orchestra was commissioned by The Disney Company in celebration of the new millennium; Kurt Masur conducted the New York Philharmonic in the work's premiere in October, to equally rousing response. One of Torke's most frequently performed orchestral pieces is _Javelin_ (1994), a "sonic olympiad" commissioned by the Atlanta Committee for the Olympics in celebration of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra's 50th anniversary season. In the spring of 1996, two different recordings of _Javelin_ were simultaneously released a rare occurrence for a contemporary composition. The first recording, featuring the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra under Yoel Levi, was the fourth all-Torke CD to be released by Decca's Argo label. The second recording is on Sony Classical's _Summon the Heroes_, the official centenary Olympics album featuring the Boston Pops conducted by John Williams, which reached the Number One position on Billboard's Classical Crossover chart. Vocal music has played a prominent role in Torke's recent output. In _Four Proverbs_ (1993) for female voice and ensemble, Torke manipulates words in the same way that he has manipulated thematic cells in his earlier works and, in so doing, creates a unique symbiotic relationship between language and music. This technique is further explored in _Book of Proverbs_ (1996), for soprano, baritone, chorus and orchestra, which received its world premiere in Holland in September 1996 with the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic and Choir conducted by Edo de Waart. With two of his most widely-performed works, _Ecstatic Orange_ and _The Yellow Pages_ (both written in 1985 while Torke was still a composition student at Yale), Torke practically defined post-minimalism, a music which utilizes the repetitive structures of a previous generation to incorporate musical techniques from both the classical tradition and the contemporary pop world. From these initial kinetic scores, Torke's music has developed toward larger, more expansive forms allowing for greater textural variation and longer, sweeping themes. Over the past decade, Torke's vibrant music has strongly appealed to choreographers including: Ulysses Dove (Alvin Ailey, New York City Ballet), James Kudelka (San Francisco Ballet), Jiri Killian (Netherlands Dance Theater), Glenn Tetley (Royal Ballet, Covent Garden) and Peter Martins (New York City Ballet), who has choreographed seven of Torke's compositions to date (four of which were NYCB commissions). May 2002 brought the premiere of Torke's first full-evening story ballet, _The Contract_, choreographed by James Kudelka for the National Ballet of Canada. In 1997 Torke was appointed the first Associate Composer of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. One of the first highlights of his residency came in March 1999 with the U.K. premiere of _Book of Proverbs_. The orchestra also commissioned two new works: _Rapture_, a percussion concerto for the young Scottish percussionist Colin Currie, and _An American Abroad_, a tone-poem that made its debut in February 2002 under the baton of Marin Alsop. Those pieces were later recorded by the RSNO under Alsop in an acclaimed release on the Naxos label. In 2003, Torke acquired the rights to re-issue the complete Decca/Argo recorded catalog of his works, and founded Ecstatic Records. Later that year, the boxed set of those complete recordings was selected by _The New York Times_ as one of the top Classical albums of the year. Torke is now at work on a musical, _House of Mirth_, workshopped at the Sundance Theater Lab at White Oak, with lyrics by Mark Campbell, book by A. R. Gurney, and directed by Bart Sher. 2005 brings _The Italian Straw Hat_, a full evening farce for ballet, commissioned by the National Ballet of Canada, with choreography by James Kudelka, and sets and costumes by Santo Loquasto.

Reproduction Rights
This biography can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with the following credit: Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes

Bestselling Titles by Michael Torke

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications