• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

The 24 minutes long work consists of a single enormous movement (...fantasia...) and a coda containing two parts (coda: recitativo ed epilogo). The range of tone colour in the composition is undoubtedly the key element in its effectiveness, Kurtág luxuriates in the possibilities offered by the two solo instruments and the huge orchestra. His instrumentation is magical, the exceptionally big percussion section is enriched with the incomparable sound of a new instrument, the steel drum. The ”concertante”was premiered in 2003 in Copenhagen by Hiromi Kikuchi, Ken Hakii and the Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Michael Schonwand. In 2006, this work won the University of Louisville Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition.The performance rights of the violin and viola solo parts have been reserved for Hiromi Kikuchi and Ken Hakii.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications