Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

MacMillan, JamesInés de Castro (1991-95, rev.2014) 110'
an opera in two acts

Music Text  
Libretto after the play 'Inés de Castro' by Jo Clifford (E)

S,2M,T,BBar,B; chorus 2(II=picc).2(II=corA).2(II=Bbcl,bcl).2(II=dbn)- dr/vib(bowed)/crot/t.bells/2handbells(lg)/sizzle cym/mark tree/clash cyms/gong/susp.cym/thundersheet with superball/finger cyms/anvil/xyl/flexatone/SD/2bongos/4tom-t/ lion's roar/metal sheet or plate-harp-pft(=cel)-strings.
Abbreviations (PDF).

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

For full details on this stagework, including synopsis and roles, please visit our Opera section.

World Premiere
Edinburgh Festival
Jonathan Moore, director / Helen Field/Jeffrey Lawton/Stafford Dean/Scottish Opera / Richard Armstrong CBE

Press Quotes  
"...a classic example of the fusion of a brilliant musical score with gut wrenching theatre... It is gripping from start to finish... Underpinning it all is music that has everything - floating lyricism, overpowering emotion, and a fundamental Wagnerian concept of encapsulating and driving the narrative."
The Scotsman

"Inés de Castro is a complex, ambitious work, a modern attempt at grand opera in the tradition of Verdi and Mussorgsky... Mr MacMillan is a serious gifted composer with a public that cares deeply about his work - the first such creature in Britain since the death of Benjamin Britten."
The Wall Street Journal

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of over 1000 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index