Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Shepherd, Sean: Octet (2008) 16'
for ensemble


Abbreviations (PDF)


This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere

American Academy, Berlin
Scharoun Ensemble Berlin / Sean Shepherd

Composer's Notes

The titles of my Octet are taken from the lines of a poem by Wallace Stevens: Sea surface full of clouds. While writing the piece at the American Academy in Berlin on the Wannsee, I told my fellow Fellows that I had a feeling that the piece I was writing had something to do with the color blue, and we started talking poetry. Ellen Levy and Ken Gross, both brilliant literary scholars, sent me running toward the water and the sky in all great directions, yet once I found these words, I kept returning to them. For each movement, I found the title at a different point of completion. Some were completely finished, some in the middle, and some started some musical possibilities for me. As titles go, these are not meant to provide anything that might be taken literally; a vague impression may, in the end, reveal more.

— Sean Shepherd

Reproduction Rights:
This program note may be reproduced free of charge in concert programs with a credit to the composer.

Repertoire Note

The four movements are played without pause.

Email Newsletters

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores