• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

As in years past, Boosey & Hawkes won multiple 2017 Paul Revere Awards from the Music Publishers Association, continuing to prove the exceptional quality of its work in the music industry.

Boosey & Hawkes is the winner of multiple 2017 Paul Revere Awards for Graphic Excellence from the Music Publishers Association of the United States, demonstrating that its publications continue to be the standard bearers in the music publishing field. The awards, presented to music publishers annually at the MPA Meeting and Awards luncheon, recognize achievements in graphic design and engraving quality, in terms of usability for orchestras, educators, libraries and individuals. Publications are eligible to win prizes in 13 separate award categories, ranging from educational folios to piano and guitar solos to choral and full orchestra scores.

This year, Boosey & Hawkes’ New York editorial team—led by director Maggie Heskin—was presented with five prizes across the different categories:

Full Scores
Second Prize
Claude Vivier, Liebesgedichte for soprano, alto, tenor, bass soloists and ensemble

Keyboard Music

First Prize
Alberto Ginastera, Piano Concerto No. 2, two-piano reduction

Piano-Vocal Music

First Prize
Alberto Ginastera, Bomarzo, vocal score from the opera

Solos without Accompaniment

First Prize
Elliott Carter, Retracing V for solo trombone

Cover Design Featuring Photography
Second Prize
Michael Daugherty, Bay of Pigs for acoustic guitar and string quartet

Other Boosey & Hawkes publications that received Paul Revere Awards in recent years include Steven Mackey’s Beautiful Passing (First Prize, Full Score, 2016); Elliott Carter’s Mnemosyne (Second Prize, Solo Instrument, 2016); Carter’s Tre Duetti (First Prize, Chamber Ensemble, 2015); Carter’s Instances (First Prize, Full Score, 2015); Carter’s Epigrams (First Prize, Chamber Ensemble, 2014); John Adams’s I was looking at the ceiling and then I saw the sky (First Prize, Piano-Vocal Music, 2013); Adams’s The Dharma at Big Sur (Second Prize, Full Score, 2015); and Christopher Rouse’s Karolju (First Prize, Choral Octavo, 2013)

Established in 1964 in honor of the 200th anniversary of the first music engraving in America by the famous silversmith Paul Revere, the awards have encouraged and acknowledged the highest quality of publication from the viewpoint of engraving, graphic arts and production standards for decades.

To learn more about this year’s Paul Revere Awards, read New Music Box’s coverage of the Music Publishers Association’s event.

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications